Making life better

Alberta Snapshot

A Quarterly Economic Update

Silent Crisis

Trends and Challenges Facing Alberta’s Displaced Workers

Define the Decade

A Framework for Prosperity for Albertans

From Outsized Emissions to Outsized Opportunites

Part One: Laying the Groundwork for an Alberta Low-Carbon Industrial Strategy

Industry for Vaccination Alberta Coalition

Bringing vaccination access to all Albertans

AlbertaBETTER Podcast

Exploring the issues that matter most to Albertans and uncovering how we can shape our society so that everyone can prosper.

The Business Council of Alberta has a simple but radical idea: making life better.

This means business is a leader in helping Albertans, the economy, and the environment thrive.

The Latest

Weekly EconMinute—October 22, 2021

Weekly EconMinute—October 22, 2021

In this week’s EconMinute, we’re talking about COVID’s impact on consumer prices. Have an indicator you want us to look into? Email us at As mentioned in a previous EconMinute, inflation has become a hot topic over the past few months....

read more
Weekly EconMinute—October 15, 2021

Weekly EconMinute—October 15, 2021

In this week’s EconMinute, we’re talking about manufacturing activity in Alberta. Have an indicator you want us to look into? Email us at Manufacturing has been a bright spot in Alberta’s economic recovery. While employment remains low...

read more
A Primer on Alberta’s Equalization Referendum

A Primer on Alberta’s Equalization Referendum

On October 18th, Albertans will go to the polls to elect new mayors, reeves and municipal councillors. Also on the ballot will be two referendum questions: one on whether or not to remain on Daylight Saving Time year-round; and the other addressing whether the...

read more

Policy. Advocacy. Action.

Learn more about our work to create economic and social prosperity for all.

Our Focus Areas

Jobs & Opportunity

We believe our success as a province hinges on the participation and prosperity of all. Prosperity begins with a good job, and future opportunity. To achieve this, we must grow the economy, create jobs now, and equip Albertans to do them better than anyone else on earth.

Competitive & Sustainable Economy

Sustainability requires that we meet the food, fuel, and fibre needs of the world today, and for decades to come, while also setting up our province and the world even better for future generations to meet their own needs. This means building Alberta as the province of challenge-driven innovation and industry, and one that is truly an economic and ESG leader.

Our Approach

Adapt. Collaborate. Preserve.

To build a better Alberta, we harness the collective power of business leaders, entrepreneurs, influential decision-makers, and unexpected collaborators. We boldly face the challenges ahead, ensuring that our business environment remains competitive and prepared for change, and that our assets, our people, and our environment are protected.

Our Members


Top Alberta companies in every sector


Over 200,000 working Albertans


Tens of billions annually in our economy

join the movement

Sign up to stay updated on our work and join the movement toward a better Alberta for all.



RELEASE: New survey shows looming labour shortage in Alberta

ALBERTA, CANADA—While it may seem odd to be talking about labour shortages at a time when Alberta has a still high rate of unemployment and the highest long-term unemployment rate in the country—2.4% as of the July Labour Force Survey—there is evidence of a looming...

read more
Ⓒ Copyright Business Council of Alberta | Privacy Policy

Pin It on Pinterest